Two standard works of the classical period, both in C minor, both with a highly dramatic and early romantic touch, form the framework of the programme. Two works that nevertheless could not be more different: The “Tragic”, besides the “Unfinished” the only symphony in a minor key by the then just 19-year-old Schubert, is juxtaposed with the “fateful” Fifth by the already established 38-year-old Beethoven.

With the two symphonies, expanded by Beethoven’s “Coriolan” overture to a pure C minor programme, the Staatskapelle Halle and Fabrice Bollon will give a guest performance in the Kölner Philharmonie on 1 November 2023, the feast of All Saints.
In Halle, a cheerful work will be heard between the two symphonies. Béla Bartók, who initially rebelled like Beethoven with his “Allegro barbaro” or the ballet “The Miraculous Mandarin”, found a gentler and more classical style in his later work, which found completion in the 3rd Piano Concerto. The soloist is the Hungarian János Balázs, who has won several awards and is highly regarded throughout the world.

Conductor: Fabrice Bollon
Orchestra: Staatskapelle Halle
Piano: János Balázs

Franz Schubert Symphony No. 4 in C minor “Tragic”, D 417
Béla Bartók Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No.3 in E major, Sz 119
Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 5 in C minor, op. 67