LAJTHA: Hortobágy, Op. 21a
LÁSZLÓ DUBROVAY: Piano Concerto No. 3
– intermission –
DOHNÁNYI: Symphony No. 1

János Balázs piano
Concerto Budapest
Conductor: Domonkos Héja

The third concert in the Hungarian Gems series promises three fine specialities under the conductorship of Domonkos Héja, from three highly esteemed creators of Hungarian music history. The László Lajtha suite was made as the film music for Hortobágy (1935), director: Georg M. Hoellering, about the Hungarian peasantry, the screenplay of which Zsigmond Móricz himself supplied in the text titled Komor ló, generally considered one of the earliest Hungarian film novellas. László Dubrovay’s Piano Concerto No. 3 pays tribute to Ferenc Liszt because it was written for the 200th anniversary of the birth of the great composer. However, at its world premiere in 2011 it proved to be more than a one-time work, since when the composition, evoking Liszt with its form model and continuous musical process, has been added to the repertoires of numerous outstanding Hungarian pianists. Following this contemporary concerto with solo by Kossuth Prize laureate János Balázs, the concert winds up with Symphony No. 1 (1902) by Ernő Dohnányi: the work that debuted in Manchester and came from the hand of the barely 25-year-old composer was not the first symphony from this precocious artist.